PA Appreciation Week

Happy National Physician’s Assistant Appreciation Week!  Let me introduce you to the most amazing PA out there- Sharon Johnson.Sharon - Edited  This lady has been there for me in some of the hardest times of my life, fighting for me and helping me to find my voice.  I have put her through so much since I’ve been her patient– everything from being manic on SSRIs (allergic to all SSRIs and was on 3 of them at once- eventually resulted in serotonin syndrome) to three surgeries and the complications that came with them.  Oh, and then of course coming to her with my incredibly complex medical issues and often fragile mental state.  She has literally seen me at my absolute worst.  Others might have run or refused to see me as a patient…but not Sharon.  Sharon has never once given up on me.

Recently, one of my (former) doctors aggressively inserted himself into my life, making gross accusations and false assumptions.  He ripped my life right out from under my feet…but even worse?  He went after Sharon, threatening her and her license.  It was horrible.  But what did Sharon do?  Not only did she defend herself, involving her supervising physician and the head of the practice, but she also stuck up for me!  In a major way.  She defended me both as a patient and as a person.  She is tough as nails, that one.Screenshot 2015-10-10 at 6.32.44 PM - EditedI was SO nervous to see her after the awful fiasco with my aforementioned physician, but our doctor-patient relationship, as well as our relationship as people, is better and stronger than ever.  She understands me better than ever before, and I know I can be myself with her, without judgement.

I come to her with some really hard and really personal stuff, but somehow, she always knows just what to say.  She sees my heart.  When I feel like the world is against me, I know I can always count on Sharon to help me back up again, reminding me I am a person- not just a number, illness or burden. Screenshot 2015-10-10 at 6.31.08 PM (1) - Edited

Screenshot 2015-10-10 at 6.26.10 PM (1) - Edited

I could go on and on, but for now, let me just conclude with saying:  Sharon is the the smartest, kindest, strongest, most compassionate, most creative, most beautiful, most dedicated and all-around BEST PA I’ve ever known.  She is a huge blessing in my life, and I will spend the rest of my time on this Earth in appreciation and utter awe of all she did and continues to do in my life.  She is not just my PCP; she is my hero.

Leave a Reply

