BIO 181 & A Whisper In The Storm

I have no words to describe what is happening right now. My heart is shattered. I am tired and weary and I feel so very afraid. But God is holding us amidst this chaos, even though His presence isn’t always immediately apparent…

Dr. Kosal is my Biology professor and one of the kindest, most compassionate people I have ever known (more on that later). Unable to leave my dad’s side at the hospital, I missed the final exam. I couldn’t even let her know I was going to miss the exam or why because there are no phones or computers allowed when someone is waiting to be involuntarily committed. It was impossible to sneak considering my dad’s rogue state and my role as a primary caretaker. When I could finally access my phone, I emailed her in a panicked frenzy, apologizing profusely, feeling terrible, and begging for a retroactive ‘incomplete’ in the class. Her response…well…it was a total God thing.

Here’s are some excerpts (6/22/16):

“Hi Cassidy,

I’m so sorry to read all of this.  It sounds like you have been given a heavy load to carry and I know you are physically and emotionally exhausted.  I gave you an incomplete for the course already – I knew there was some good reason to not see you…
…So let me know what you think.  Take care of your health first, your dad, and then worry about BIO 181.  It will be here for you when you can tackle it well.  No rush.

Sincerely,
Dr. Kosal”

Thank you, Lord, for placing people like Dr. Kosal in my life. I do not understand why this is happening, but I know You are here and You are working for our good…somehow…

Leave a Reply

